Watching Persona 5

Since I do not own consoles of any kind, Persona 5 is that game that I am simply not going to play, but I damn wish I could. The game is stylish, has interesting, not too slow gameplay and there simply isn’t much like it that I know of. As we live in the future™, I’ve been following Adam Koebel’s (youtube/twitch) playthrough instead, and, oh, it has been a joy to watch.

Adam and the chat (Persona 5’s playthrough is currently only on twitch VODs, behind a subscription) have been talking and discussing the game in its various aspects throughout the playthrough, touching on subjects I wouldn’t have noticed were present within the game, or simply don’t have enough knowledge on to even form an opinion on them. The use of Tarot cards, for example, would have been lost to me as I do not know how to interpret them, much less how they could be used as a way to describe the struggles or traits a person is going through.

And, I simply do not know enough about Japan or Japanese culture to even begin to appreciate any nuances, references or details related to that. It would have all been lost to me had I not had the company of Adam, as the director, and the rest of chat, as fellow viewers, to point them to me and provide some of the necessary context to begin to parse them.

With all this said, I am excited to go back in and get my brain going, thinking about the game in a way that I wouldn’t have done, nor would have even been possible for me to do so. I realize that this is something only possible with the surge of video content, whether it is live content or not. I personally find that the live interactivity keeps me engaged and allows me (and others) to ask questions to further enlighten my mind, but I also enjoy Campster’s heavily edited video essays, though in a different way.

That said, I understand that such discussion wouldn’t be everybody’s cup of tea, but for those who do, it is like a book club for games, and you get a live reading of it and it is great.

